Beef Hind Quarter.

1. Used for choice roasts, the porterhouse and sirloin steaks.

2. Rump, used for steaks, stews and corned beef.

3. Aitch bone, used for boiling-pieces, stews and pot roasts.

4. Buttock or round, used for steaks, pot roasts, beef á la mode; also a prime boiling piece.

5. Mouse-round, used for boiling and stewing.

6. Shin or leg, used for soups, hashes, etc.

7. Thick flank, cut with under fat, is a prime boiling piece, good for stews and corned beef, pressed beef.

8. Veiny piece, used for corned beef, dried beef.

9. Thin flank, used for corned beef and boiling-pieces.

Beef forequarter

10. Five ribs called the fore rib. This is considered the primest piece for roasting; also makes the finest steaks.

11. Four ribs, called the middle ribs, used for roasting.

12. Chuck ribs, used for second quality of roasts and steaks.

13. Brisket, used for corned beef, stews, soups and spiced beef.

14. Shoulder piece, used for stews, soups, pot-roasts, mince meat and hashes.

Nos. 15, 16. Neck, clod or sticking-piece used for stocks, gravies, soups, mince pie meat, hashes, bologna sausages, etc.

17. Shin or shank, used mostly for soups and stewing.

18. Cheek.

The following is a classification of the qualities of meat, according to the several joints of beef, when cut up.

1. Includes the sirloin with the kidney suet (1), the rump steak piece (2), the fore rib (11).

2. The buttock or round (4), the thick flank (7), the middle ribs (11).

3. The aitch-bone (3), the mouse round (5), the thin flank (8, 9), the chuck (12), the shoulder piece (14), the brisket (13).

4. The clod, neck and sticking piece (15, 16).

5. Shin or shank (17).